• Register Today It's free!

Penetrating lube for spark plugs?

BradE.

Reaction score
City, State
Cincinnati, OH
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 XLT 4x4
I am going to be changing the spark plugs and wires soon and am somewhat worried about busting a plug off. They are the factory plugs and I currently have 77K miles.

So I was wondering this; Is is o.k. to spray the plugs with penetrating lube prior to removal to help avoid busting one?

Any tips are always appreciated. :)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

i'm not an expert on that....but my gut feeling is telling me you dont want get anything in there so if you do use that use little of it...also when you put the new plugs in put some anti-sieze solution on it so they will be easier to take off the next time...it also helps if the engine is as cold as possible to get the plugs off