Questions on 4.0 vs 5.0 and tow package | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Questions on 4.0 vs 5.0 and tow package

rocket22

Reaction score
City, State
La Grange, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Explorer xlt 4 wd
I have had two explorers 95 2wd and 00 4wd, and the current 00 is suffering the SOHC timing chain problem. It still runs but will eventually die a slow, maybe sudden, death.

Here are the questions: We have towed with both, a 19 ft boat, using the bumper hitch, yes I know that is not the best and want to get away from it.
Do all the 5.0 have the tow package? Since I am new at the tow package from factory, how will I know if it is factory or aftermarket? What else comes with the tow package? Gears? Brakes? Radiator?
I am assuming the 5.0 has the better trans than the 4.0.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

5.0 has much better trans.. and no not all 5.0s have tow package.. to my understanding the tow package has a trans cooler, 3.73 gears, and under the bumper it has a hitch.
someone can correct me if im wrong.

I have a 97 Limited and a 97 Eddie Bauer, both with the 5.0 V8.

I'm not sure about either having a "tow package" per se, but both have trans coolers; both have 3.73 gears; both had a 4 pin and 7 pin Ford factory harness where the jack is kept and a connector for them under the bumper.

Maybe I just got lucky but these were all things that just happened to come with both.

Neither had a hitch, just pulled one off a V6 from the junk yard and it bolted right up.

I haven't come across anything like a radiator or brakes specific to a towing package application when searching for replacement parts - open to being corrected as I'm curious as well.