Some advice or a second opinion please! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Some advice or a second opinion please!

jstrick01

Reaction score
City, State
Fairfax, VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'03 Eddie Bauer
Hello,
For the past couple of months, I have been putting almost a gallon of antifreeze into the radiator every 10 days or so. I took it to a shop today and they ran a coolant system check and pressure test. They discovered that it appears the antifreeze is "seeping" through the engine block? They said this is likely due to a hairline crack in the block or the actual block has become more porous, possibly due to metal degradation? I'm not a mechanic (obviously), but does this make sense? I don't have any white smoke when I start the truck in the AM and there is no pooling or leaking under the truck each day, so the coolant has to be going somewhere.

Their recommendation was that I likely will need a new or rebuilt engine!!! For reference, I have a 2003 Explorer (Eddie Bauer edition) with approximately 151,000 miles on it. Does anyone out there have a second opinion or some advice on how I might prolong the life of the truck in it's current state?

Thanks in advance for any advice or opinions...

V6 or V8?

Sorry about that.... guess that would help. It's a V8

Does not make complete sense, no.

One gallon every ten days would leave a trail somewhere, you just have to find it. If a porous block is the shop's answer, have them show you where the coolant is going to - the valley, the deck? the combustion chambers?

This should be trackable.

Have you done a 100% full engine, body underside, and heater box inspections? I have a Volvo with the "white block" aluminum engine which are known for porous blocks in a few of the mid0-90s model years, but you can always find where the coolant is going. I have not heard of the 4.6L having a porous block problem, but I'm assuming that you have kept the cooling system maintained.