• Register Today It's free!

Spark plugs

jutgin

Reaction score
City, State
Chattanooga, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 ST
Guys I'm sorry but I still don't know where the spark plugs are. I don't see any wires up top anywhere. Keep in mind I have the 4.6 V8. I'm no mechanic but have been doing stuff like changing my own plugs and wires for 13 years. Anyone have a V8 with a pic pointing to the location???

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Edit: wrong image.

Edit

I wish it did but mine looks like that but without the wires there. I can't find them!! Man I feel dumb. Anyone out there in forum world have a V8 and knows exactly what is going on?

Don't recall for sure but there may be an engine cover you will have to remove to see the spark plugs. On 2002 there should be no plug wires, the system has a coil over each spark plug so you will have to remove each coil to access the spark plugs. These are in the top of the heads, next to the intake manifold. Look for a rubber plug boot similar to those on the end of spark plug wires. The coils are round on top with a two wire connector.

That sounds a little more like what I'm dealing with. Under that cover I don't see anything even remotely ressembling a spark plug or wire. There is something there that I thought were the fuel injectors but I guess they might be the plugs if I took them off? This is blowing my mind I have never heard of this. I'm gonna take these things off tomorrow and find out!! I'll take pics too so you guys won't think I'm crazy.

Jutgin, THERE ARE NO PLUG WIRES ON YOUR EXPLORER! It uses a coil on plug setup. You can tell the difference between the coil and the injector by location, the injector is mounted into the intake manifold.

Somebody wanna break out a camera or cell phone so J can see the plugs?

Maybe...