Swinging needle on temp gauge syndrome...fixed? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Swinging needle on temp gauge syndrome...fixed?

doonze

Reaction score
City, State
Fayetteville, Ar
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93 X Sport
So, I've been working on my cooling system for about 5 months now. Just about the last things I had left is to figure out were where some of my fluid is vanishing too every once in awhile... and my swinging temp needle.

So here is what I would get, when first coming up to temp each day it would rise to about O the jump quickly to A/L then slowly fall back down below N. It would do this almost every day (or every time it was allowed to cool down). It would spend the rest of the time moving from O or R under load.

Then on days it was really cool, like it is now most evening on the way home, the gauge would hover around N, jump to like r/m, then fall back to N, then jump up to r/m, fall back to N, so on and so forth all the way home...

For a long time I figured I've had bad stats... But I decided for $4.99 from Advanced Auto I would give a new temp sending unit a try.....

Seems to have fixed my issues (so far), it now hangs out around O once up to temp, might move from one side of O to the other under load, but no more movement then that. When coming up to temp, it hits O, then drop down to low N and slowly climbs back to low O. But nothing like it used to swinging all the way to L. So far seems to overall read a TAD lower then before, but no swinging like it was....

We'll see if it sticks, I'll post up if it starts up again. Been 4 days now!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!