Torque Converter Install Issue | Page 3 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Torque Converter Install Issue

@410Fortune
Well I'm now Expert of Course... but have learned a bunch... and that puts me at ease to know you've dropped nuts in Bell Housing
and Yes Yes Yes .... get them out to save yourself the embarrassment from Colleagues.... Luckily for me there was No One Around

I was very hesitant to post the fact that I did in this Forum :)
@410Fortune I Meant: "I'm No Expert" lol

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

sheesh Ive been building these things a long while and I am not afraid of being judged for my mistakes, instead I post them up so we can all learn.

@410Fortune

Absolutely! Ill post my entire experience when done.
@410Fortune
@DILLARD000

Looks like another Road Bump.....

First I Replaced every accessory to engine ....Except the Starter....

So my buddy and I got the Truck all together and was letting it run and getting transmission filled etc
and then we heard some noise ....we knew it had someting to do with Starter ....it was late so we called it a night.

Tonight I pulled the Starter out ....And ....See Pics ....
My limited knowledge tells me the starter didnt release off Flexplate after starting ....???

I stopped for the night but tomorrow Ill put eyes on Flexplate

Also Ive got New Starter in hand.

How likely is it that the Flexplate is toast
And what other damage could this have done ?

Looks like Im pulling Transmission after all to replace Flexplate?

Well if it were easy Id give up ...seriously and LOL at this point

20201203_222655.jpg

20201203_222701.jpg

dang yes the pinion is still "kicked out" it should have retracted

When you engage the starter that pinion gear spins out to reach the flexplate, and then it springs back