• Register Today It's free!

V6 Weapon R Intake

DBVIII

Reaction score
City, State
Hartford, SD
Year, Model & Trim Level
2007 Sport Trac XLT
I have been looking around and searching through the forums, but have not seen anyone that has the Weapon R Intake for their V6 ST. I am new to the Sport Trac world, just bought my 2007 ST XLT this past Friday, so just lookin around for mods. I've seen the intake on a couple websites and its the only one that I see fits the V6. Does anyone out there have it with pictures of it installed, and possibly some reviews on it? Thanks for the help from a newbie!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Never heard of it. Unless it comes with a heat shield it won't be as good as the stock intake anyway. A stock Gen 2 intake is already a cold air intake and even the silencer is pretty much wide open.

http://www.weapon-r.com/index.php?act=view_product&id=128

Here is the link to the intake that I found. So I know it's available for the motor, just never heard/seen of anyone that has it installed or whether they have any gains from it. Would it be best to go with this or to just do a drop in K&N Filter?

I'm not seeing a heat shield. Looks like flashy ricer crap to me. That's not a cold air intake, it's a hot air intake. A 4.0 doesn't really flow enough air that the stock airbox is a restriction and if it is, that will only occur at high rpm where trucks don't usually operate. You will get far more bang for the buck dropping $350 on a cat-back exhaust and not $250 on an intake that won't be any better than stock and probably worse. The stock intake isn't a restriction, the stock exhaust is. Just get a K&N drop-in and call it good. The Gibson exhaust I have gives noticeably more power and 3 mpg better on the highway.