• Register Today It's free!

Warn Manual Hub Assembly

94EddieBauerRock

Reaction score
City, State
Champaign, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 Eddie Bauer
Hello everyone. I have gotten some great advice and help from this forum! I decided it is about time to give back. I haven't seen any instructions on how to assemble a warn manual hub or any useful schematics. This is very basic but it may help some people out. I am a novice and this was pretty easy so anyone should be able to do it with only some simple tools.

I bought my hubs off of freshmeat on this forum. I just got the hub bodies powder coated (they turned out great) and decided it would be cool to do a write up on how to assemble them.

You start out with the hub body:
picture.php

And the internal hub components:
picture.php

(this picture shows the hub components as they will be assembled inside the hub body)

Here is a picture of the hub body and components next to each other:
picture.php

First thing is first. The locking mechanism must be installed. This can be fairly tricky because you have to get the plastic rotating assembly in just right so it will lock and unlock. The following picture shows the two pieces that are installed first. The piece on the left is the exterior rotating assembly. The spring and 2 plastic pieces stacked on top of each other on the right are the interior portion of the locking assembly.
picture.php