91-94 Explorer XLT W/6inch susp lift& 35" tires. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

91-94 Explorer XLT W/6inch susp lift& 35" tires.

ryanexplorermods

Reaction score
City, State
Edmonton, AB, CAN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'91 XLT
Having looked around the site I am finding alot of great information. Some of you fellers have some awesome suggestions and knowledge.

Not being a mechanic by trade (yet able to do most things). I am now getting into the swing of things.

What I am looking for right now, are some specific details as to what I should do to a stock explorer before I add the 6inch lift(susp) and 35 inch tires.

I have the lift and tires already. I really want to stick to this items.

What engine mods will be worth getting, before the lift/tires.

What work is ABSOLUTELY NEEDED to support this kind of susp/tires.

What other mods would you guys do, that might not be neccesary, but you Personally feel would make this a capable, and long lasting rig; that gets driven 80% off road...and ALOT!

Thanks for the imput and have fun!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

First off welcome to the forum. I personally would suggest gears. At least4.56 would be best in my opinion. I have 4.10's with 33's and wouldn't mind having the 4.56's. No engine mods are really worth it to me, just take good care of it and you shouldn't have any problems. Good luck.:thumbsup:

A gree with cculter that all you need is gears. Although, if you're 80% off-road, I'd go with 5.13s. I have 35s with 4.56 and it's just not quite low enough even in 4lo on the trails.

Good luck. :thumbsup: