• Register Today It's free!

A Limited Slip Question

jtb1689

Reaction score
City, State
Woodinville, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93 Sport Eddie Bauer
Some background: So I was lucky enough to acquire my '93 Sport Eddie Bauer a few years back and always just assumed it was a normal ol' explorer 4x4. Driving in the snow, in the mud, off road, in the rain, I have always been convinced it has an open diff as friends (that know nothing about vehicles) have enlightened me to the fact that when stuck sometimes one wheel spins and the other doesn't. So, needless to say I was a little irked today when I checked the codes for the first time and found that lovely D4 under "Axle." My original thought was sweet, I've got a limited slip and 3.73's, I might not need new gears for 33's after all when I get there. Then I remembered it has never been there to help me when I needed it most.

Actual Question: Why? I am new to diff's (spend most of my time in the lifting, off-road accessories sections of the forum) so I don't know much about them yet, do the limited slips wear out over time? Because I will swear by it one rear wheel will spin when another does nothing if I get stuck. Do the clutches go bad? By the way I am sure there has been very little, probably no maitenance at all, on the limited slip (should have checked to see if it had one sooner I guess...).

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The clutches are probably worn out. You can buy a re-build kit and do it yourself if you are decent with hand tools. You can get the re-build kits from many places. Ford, Summit Racing, Jegs, etc. Do an on-line search for Trac-loc rebuild kit.

The stock Trac Lock L/S could be worn out as they tend to do. Especially on a truck that is 15-16 years old.