Front end knock/thud when turning and accelerating? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Front end knock/thud when turning and accelerating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tgrubbe

Reaction score
City, State
Kansas City, MO
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Eddie Bauer Explorer
I have been driving my explorer for about 2 years now, but it has been in my family (My dad drove it) since 1998. Other than some small issues like replacing tires and a couple other things, I haven't had much trouble. Recently, I have been hearing a knock/thud noise from the front end when I turn and sometimes when I accelerate. This happens at low to medium speeds and it also does it when I go over bumps. And it also makes a clank/knock sound when slowing down. I don't know how to explain it any better, but if you need any more details I will try my best to provide them. And it says it under my username, but it is a 1996 5.0L AWD model. I have been looking things up but there are so many different things it could be I am starting to get pretty worried. :(

Thanks in advance for any help ;)

EDIT:
I also should mention that the torsion bars in the front have been adjusted to add about an extra inch.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

possibilities include:

1. loose/missing shock bushings
2. loose/broken sway bar end-links and/or bushings
3. front drive shaft problems
4. worn ball joints

possibilities include:

1. loose/missing shock bushings
2. loose/broken sway bar end-links and/or bushings
3. front drive shaft problems
4. worn ball joints

Exactly what Koda said, but I'd add tie rods to the list. My tie rods pop when accelerating around a turn. Then again, they are the original ones.