Life expectancy for 4.0 SOHC

Explorer_PL

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Rockland County, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
06EB V8
I have had my v8 for close to 9 years now and never read much about that wonderful piece of art from Ford called 4.0 SOHC. Now, that I got also 07 with v6 now with 116k miles, I need to get educated.

Can you guys post the highest mileage you squeezed out of the v6 before the timing issues ?
What is the most common failure on those ? Do I need to pull the motor out to do the rear cassette ? Are the guides the main problem ? I watched a video where the plastic pieces of guides fell down and blocked the oil pump and starved the engine of oil. Anything else I need to know about the ?
Tech by Trade - I hope for you to chime in (seriously).

Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Oil changes every 3k and ford oil filter is about all you can do. Highest milage on stock chains I have seen is about 230k. Usually the main tensioner fails somewhere after 150k but some people ignore it and let the pieces get down to the oil pickup.

I have seen plenty of even 97-98s even make it to 200k on stock chains, they all were taken care of though.

I'm on my fourth V6 Explorer, 94, 00, 04 and now a 08, never had any real problems with any of them. All had well over 150k when sold. The 08 I have now has 174k on it, was fleet maintained, runs and drives perfect although gas mileage is bad (14mpg).

Thanks

So far that's encouraging :)

Yes, I can change an air filter :)

My v8 looks so much simpler, I would not have a problem pulling the motor or tranny out, I am almost done with installing a new 5r55s in the 07, and I had my 4.6 out twice on the 06.