02 XLT - New to Explorers - Some advice appreciated | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

02 XLT - New to Explorers - Some advice appreciated

Bossman27

Reaction score
City, State
Newark OH
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 XLT V8 4x4
Hello, this is my first post on this forum and I've learned a lot just doing searches, this is a great forum. I just bought a 2002 XLT 4.6L 4x4 with 70,000 miles on it. It's going to be our new family vehicle and I wanted to do a full top to bottom, front to back tune-up on it over the next few weeks. I'm definitely not new to Fords I'm only new to the 4.6L motor. I've only ever worked on diesels and windsor style V-8s. Here is what I'm planning on doing. Let me know if this is way overkill or if you would add/change anything. I get crazy when I buy something used because I'm so **** about my cars and trucks so I just change/replace everything.

I found that the oil was 1.5 qts low! This led to a ticking noise (sounds like a collapsed or dirty lifter) under the passenger side valve cover towards the back. It ONLY ticks under load, idle is totally quiet. I think whoever changed the oil didn't know this motor took more than 5 qts. I changed oil using 6 qts of 5w-30 and the noise got quieter but it's still there. I added .5 qts of Marvels Mystery Oil and it got even more quiet. I'm going to rechange the oil in a few hundred miles using full synthetic 5w-20, maybe that will get rid of this noise, I hope so.

Trans fluid and Filter
Flush Brake Fluid
Flush Power Steering System
Change Spark Plugs
Clean EGR system
Clean MAF sensor
Air Filter looks new already
Change Front and Rear Diff oil to full synthetic
Change transfer case oil
Full Grease job - U-joints/Slip yokes/Trans yokes/front and rear hubs and suspension
Serp Belt and possibly new Idlers/Pulleys
Coolant Flush
Change Fuel Filter
Replace Oxygen Sensors (not sure how many there are)
Change PCV
Run some Seafoam through brake booster line.