05 Possible head gasket issue - white smoke from engine bay | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

05 Possible head gasket issue - white smoke from engine bay

beauexplorer92

Reaction score
City, State
Las Vegas, NV
Year, Model & Trim Level
05 Explorer XLT 4x4
Callsign
photobeau
Hey everyone,

Since I need some help quick and answers specific to my vehicle, I'll try to not waste anyone's time here and I'll be as short but also as complete with this as possible, but if there is any advice anyone can give me on the order of what to check that would be a great start. If anyone after reading this has any idea on ballpark costs this is going to be please let me know too... Unfortunately, I needed this purchase to be smooth w/o repairs and this is big and sucks bad, I'm a college student and this as my last student loan and I'm really screwed right now without a vehicle.

Incident: When parking at home today, the vehicle smelt sweet of coolant, and some white smoke flowed out from the hood. The smoke was noticeable, but it wasn't a cloud that was heavy and dissipated in a few minutes, but it was from the engine bay. I did not notice if there was anything from the exhaust (I know this is an extremely important factor though).

Vehicle Info: 2005, Explorer XLT 4x4, 4.0, 157,x.. miles - If there is anything else that would be helpful please let me know and I'll try to find that information out.