• Register Today It's free!

2004 4.0 Engine overheated

srmauer

Reaction score
City, State
Franklinton, La
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 Ford Explorer
I just purchased a 2004 with engine trouble. The 4.0 had overheated and it now has a definite miss and will overheat in about 10 miles of highway driving. I am a competent mechanic and will complete any repairs myself but my question is: After 175,000 questionable miles and the overheating issue, is this engine worth rebuilding? Or should I try to find a good used version? Steve

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would try and track down the heating problem before I go and think about dropping in one from a wrecker. The heads are disposable, that and the cost of specialty tools make a rebuild not a very good plan.

well it is an all aluminum engine. Aluminum engine hate overheating. It is very easy to wrap the heads and the blocks. Check your coolant. See if you have head gasket issues and are leaking coolant

i just did a major overhaul of my 2003 coolant system recently. i drove it from 175,000km to 223,000km and it started to slightly overheat going up a steep hill one day. I was able to keep the heat down by turning on the heater. Drove it for another couple of weeks and eventually even turning on the heater would not stop it from overheating. See my thread here for more info.

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums...4-0l-v6-overheating-saga.446557/#post-3542048

If you never drove it extensively while it is overheating the engine is probably fine. Check idling when cold, coolant in oil, white smoke in tail pipe.

The engine is pretty bullet proof.