2k ford explorer projector headlights to use in 2k mountaineer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2k ford explorer projector headlights to use in 2k mountaineer

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Swap to an explorer grille or fabricate the mountaineer grille. Could get an explorer grille and remove the Ford emblem and put a Mercury emblem in its place.

They look soo stupid on a SUV...

well, we all have our opinions. I actually drive for a living so I want lights that are bright and last a long time(the HIDS) and I like the projector housing still.

Sure, taste is debatable.

But what is not debatable is the glare those projectors make - but you probably don't care if you blind other drivers...

how about I make a video with my friend riding in another car with a camera and we drive towards each other and well see just how much glare there is. ok?

Could try to find a 1997 Mountaineer grill like on mine. The headlights are the same as the Explorer.

SEjgPjZl.jpg

Projector style lights dont cause bad glare. Its what the Europeans use and a lot of US cars have with factory hid lights and they dont blind other drivers.

The only reason an HID would cause glare is because the installer isn't using proper housings. HID's are not made to be used in the OEM housing, the lens's are designed to properly disperse halogen light.

It has been proven time and time again, and said an uncountable amount of times on this forum.

they should bolt right up to the mounty its just a explorer with a mercury badge on it body style didn't change, your gonna have to remove the grill to get them to seat. at least i did on mine

Projector style lights dont cause bad glare. Its what the Europeans use and a lot of US cars have with factory hid lights and they dont blind other drivers.