5r55e slips in drive and reverse but still have manual 1st and 2nd | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

5r55e slips in drive and reverse but still have manual 1st and 2nd

markmonty

Reaction score
City, State
Rochester, ny
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Explorer
I recently rebuilt the 5r55e in my wife's 1998 explorer. I did all the mods and have been using this site for addional info. This is a Great site!!! It was shifting fine for a while, but then it started to go into neutral when shifting from 2nd to 3rd. I pulled the pan, replaced the epc, re-checked all the solenoids, re-adjusted the bands, and checked the valvebody gaskets. On the first day it was shifting perfect. When I was driving the 2nd day, it was good until I came to a stop and attempted to take off and it was slipping in drive and reverse. I still have manual 1 and 2. I am a experienced technician but I am really starting to get frustrated with this thing!! I appreciate any help I can get!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to this forum! Did you install a shift correction kit? If so, which one? It might be a sticking spool or you might have a slightly warped valve body causing it to bind. Did you ever notice if this problem only occurs at certain temperatures? Did you use a 1/4" drive In/Lb torque wrench on the valve body bolts?

Thanks for the reply. I installed the Trans-go kit. I did use a 1/4" inch pound torque wrench. It would do it most the time before I installed the EPC, after replacing it, it started acting up when warm. Now it slips in drive and reverse, it is partially engaging ll the time. I do have a couple extra valve bodies here. Maybe it's time to drop the pan again. Thanks again!!