94 Explorer A/C leak | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

94 Explorer A/C leak

zkt

Reaction score
Bout that time of the year again so I gathered my manifold guages, charging hose and fed just short of 2 12oz cans of 134 into the low side as I have been doing for several years. The test drive was ice cold as usual so I went home to warm up. An hour later the wife sent me to the store and well guess you can guess the rest. So I did a quick inspection hoping that I might see some oil- no go. But the little drier looking thing just aft of the compressor is mighty rusty. I cant find it at AZ, no surprise there, and neither at Rock Auto. It it a muffler or what? My best guess as to the leak`s location is the high side shrader valve. Is this common? Would think that the UV dye would show uo well there. Is this valve core the same as a tire valve core?
Great forum.
Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My 91 had the same little canister, it turned out to be some kind of filter. I do many muscle car ac systems and none of the have a filter like this. i just had a new line made to delete this, and it has worked well. as for the schrader valve, it is different from the tire ones, but you can still get them from your local parts store. These are very common leak points. when you remove the dust caps is there any pressure release, if not there is no leak here.

IF that rusty part that you described is on the hose.........it sounds like a "muffler" on the line. I believe that it's not something to just take off and replace. On my '94 Explorer it's factory crimped on the line.

IF you're taking about an accumulator mounted on the firewall..........yes, it's a common leaking point when rusty.

As for the schrader valve.......try asking the guy at your local well informed auto parts store.