Bondo And Herculiner | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Bondo And Herculiner

I'm completely new to body work so bare with me. I removed my ugly stock running boards on my 97 5.0 uncovering the ugly mounting holes. Would this work: Use bondo to fill these holes up, covering up the white bondo with black herculiner to somewhat blend with my stock black paintjob also protecting the rocker panels a little more?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

bondo sucks but would probably work... however, if going to herc them, i say jsut get plastic plugs availabe at any hardware store and install those.... then herc away.....

is there a better filler I could use besides bondo?

the correct way to do it is weld the hole shut and grind it..... but thats labor intensive and a lot of people cant jsut do that and have it owrk...

rvaedge said:
I'm completely new to body work so bare with me. I removed my ugly stock running boards on my 97 5.0 uncovering the ugly mounting holes. Would this work: Use bondo to fill these holes up, covering up the white bondo with black herculiner to somewhat blend with my stock black paintjob also protecting the rocker panels a little more?