center console writeup with pics | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

center console writeup with pics

jgilbs

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Naperville, IL(home)/Iowa City, IA(school)
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 Eddie Bauer
As some of you may know, I am a firefighter. As such, I have a lot of lights/emergency equipment on my truck, and all that equipment needs power and a means of controlling it. I have had some strobes and wigwags on my truck for quite some. When i got them, I wired them kind of haphazradly by using speaker wire and some switches in my drivers door (Excelent location for switches that need to be controlled very quickly, since my left hand is usually no more than 3" away from where the switches were) But seeing as how the wiring wasn't done very well, after about 2 years my wiring started shorting out last June(actually caused a fire INSIDE my door panel :eek: - luckily I carry a fire extinguisher with me in my cargo area) This was very concerning, so naturally, I pulled the fuses and decided not to use any lights until the problem got fixed. A few months went by, and finally, this past December, I decided that I should build a center console and utilize the "dead space" that is where a shifter would go if I had a manual tranny. Seeing as how I found a very cheap fuse block (12 fuse locations, and used standard automotive fuses for about $4) and had a scanner and CB that were just sitting around not being used, I thought it would be a great idea to include them as well. My original plans called for a block heater and shoreline and switching circuitry for all of that, but space limitations killed the idea.