Dare i ask; a 2002 4.0 to 3.0 Ranger Vulcan swap? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Dare i ask; a 2002 4.0 to 3.0 Ranger Vulcan swap?

Geeshik

Reaction score
City, State
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Year, Model & Trim Level
02 Ford Explorer XLT 4.oh
Is this a possibility even temporarily? I have a 4wd 2002 Explorer 4.0 that needs the engine pulled and all of the timing cassettes replaced. I was wondering what would be involved and if the 5R55W trans would bolt together with the right motor mounts?

Horsepower isn't a huge issue for me, i drive like your grandpa anyway. I have lots of experience with the 3.0 and believe they are among the greatest engines ford ever devised. Any feedback? This is my second 4.0 explorer and while i like the room they have, i don't have anything but bad experience with the 4.0. I plan on fixing it for now, but have more than entertained the notion of a swap.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The SOHC 4.0L that you have are not very good because of how the timing chains and cassettes are designed. Which you know since that's the very problem you're having. The earlier 4.0L OHV that they used to use are nearly bullet proof and a lot better. Instead of rebuilding yours you might want to consider putting a good 4.0L OHV in there.

They had problems oiling the top end though. I have had one of those in the past and was a little less than impressed as well. In addition to that, i helped a friend replace the one in his truck due to the oiling issue. As far as i know the only weak link in the modern 3.0 is the synchro shaft. From a maintenance standpoint it is much easier to replace than timing casettes, and the timing chain in a 3.0 is a snap to replace. Just saying...