• Register Today It's free!

death rattle etc

choppa

Reaction score
City, State
Carlisle
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 the north face
Hi i think i have the dreaded death rattle, sometimes a bit noisy on startup but after 30 seconds or so nice n quiet. If it is the start of death what options is there??

She is a 2000 north face

A. take engine out and rebuild, she has a very recent LPG conversion and has 135000 miles on clock.

B. have second hand engine put in.

C, If poss get exchange recon engine.

D. ??????????????

Dunno what is the cheapest or best option, i have some mechanical experience but can i take engine out myself, not sure.
If any one can advise, tell me what they did would be a big help also advise on the dreaded cost :(

Also, my interior lamp comes on when i go over bumps and go off again and rear door lamp stays on all the time, had to take bulb out any ideas lads???

Thanks Steve

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

hi sorry to hear you have that problem, have you determind where the rattle is comming from? (bottom ends or chains),one of your interior light bulb might have a shorted out connection or the pin switch on the doors are sticking.

Not sure where rattle coming from sounds so sweet after short while.
Have replaced roof console and as for pin button, lights come on but dashboard door open light stays off, but comes on when doors open so i know that door switches are ok, thought it could poss be the general electric module, before i bought it previous owner removed the hi fi due to it being broken so wonder if he has pulled a wire or something. Oh well.

Thanks for reply.
Steve.

sounds like u need new timing chain tensioners m8....

Cheers rich,what sort of cost am i looking at for it, is it a hard job??
Can it be done by a home mechanic??