Door Lock switch and Power Mirror switch getting 8 volts | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Door Lock switch and Power Mirror switch getting 8 volts

sterlin

Reaction score
City, State
Austin, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 Ford Explorer EBauer
As the title says, I am reading 8 volts on these two switches power wires on the main switch board. The power window switch is receiving source voltage and works as expected. When attempting to use the door locks or mirror, nothing happens. No movement and no sound from either. I am new to diagnosing electrical issues on vehicles, this would indicate resistance in the power side of the circuit right? I inspected the wires in the boot going into the cab of the vehicle from the door and found no damage. Where should I look next?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

What were the terminals/wire colors where you measured? Also, what were the voltages while you tried to use the mirror/locks? I'm asking that because modern voltmeters do odd things when there is a bad/corroded connection in the circuit. It the voltage stays around 8 Volts, that's one thing. If it drops to zero, that's another. I need to dig out my wiring diagrams and think about this, but if you could reply with the terminal IDs and voltages in use, it would be very helpful.

I found that the switches themselves can develop minor corrosion on the internal contacts. The switches can be disassembled and cleaning of the contacts with fine sandpaper(600 grit) will restore an inop switch. Done it several times with window and door lock switches.

^ I usually use brasso metal polish on a cotton swab, unless it's REALLY bad.