ebay HID conversion kit, really work? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

ebay HID conversion kit, really work?

yes, i searched, and found the thread about this very same thing, but didnt really get any insight on it. as some of you know (huskyfan) i got the diamond project headlights, and i need to align them, but i need something brighter than the stock lighting. i saw this, and wandered the pros and cons of it. now, i would ditch the blue bulbs, and go with some higher wattage slviyas, or something, im not very good at lighting. whats yall's opinions?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7906378443&category=33710

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I don't see how those can be decent for $75, and they say HID "Look".

Just get sylvania silverstars, or higher wattage bulbs with an upgraded wiring harness.

ok, when you say higher wattage bulbs, what rating should i look for? where can i get them? and the upgraded wiring harness, is that the same one aldive did? what would be the best bulb for my application?

You can get the harness at: http://suvlights.tripod.com/suvlightscom/
You can get the high wattage bulbs at: www.midnightmoose.com
Yoy can also get Silverstars from most auto stores.
Only problem w/high wattage bulbs is the shorter lifespan, about half the usual.
I would think a harness and Extra vision or silverstars, if you like the "white" light would be the way to go.
IMO HID conversions in 9004 are glare monsters. You need to open the light body and put in a shield or you have to aim them so far down you might as well not have them. 9007 conversions arnt much better but they glare less. Those ebay (HID) are not HID. They just increase the voltage to some goofy blue bulbs.