• Register Today It's free!

Exhaust: Y-pipe or Dual out

tygrrwoods

Reaction score
City, State
Canton, Michigan
Year, Model & Trim Level
'03 Sport XLT
Hey, I was wondering if anyone knows if a single in/single out muffler with a y-pipe on the out, for dual out, will perform just as well as a single in/dual out muffler.

The reason I"m asking is because I can't seem to find the muffler I want. Gibson makes a 2.5" single out/ 1.75" dual out which would almost be perfect but its doesnt come in stainless steel, the lay down salt here in MI.

So, basically I'm looking for 2.5" single in/ 2.5" single out with a y-pipe or 2.5" single in/ 2.0" dual out.

Thanks,
-tygrrwoods

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

From what I've heard the Gibson stainless steel rust as bad as the non stainless

cculter said:
I have a flowmaster 3" in dual 2.5" out. I also live in Michigan. I haven't had any problems so far, and I love the sound I get from it.

Is yours aluminized or stainless steel? I don't want to have to replace the exhaust system till the car craps out.

Also, I have a SOHC so I don't want it to flow too freely.

Dan Whitaker said:
From what I've heard the Gibson stainless steel rust as bad as the non stainless

Well then its not stainless then, eh? I believe stainless steel shouldn't rust period. Its just turns colors.

when i had my dual exhaust done i went with a y pipe after the cat and ran the mufflers after the y pipe

DEF A Y pipe, and dont make the exit pipe any bigger than 2.5"

I had dual 2.25" pipes. I then replaced the muffler from a DUAL in to a Y pipe to a single. 2.5" in and I noticed a huge low end torque increase. Just do a 2.25" to 2.5" Y pipe and get a single muffler that is 2.5" in/out.

DSC00744.JPG

DSC00743.JPG

Hm..I dunno if I was specific enough.....