fill break in stock running boards + fix bumper | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

fill break in stock running boards + fix bumper

Ok, this has been bothering me since I got my ex. The lines from the doors and the line on the running boards dont line up... I see the obvious reasons why - but I want to fill in that gap and paint it. I dont have a good pic of my ex of what I'm talking about, so here is someone else's ex.
10058e9_4.jpg

I have no experience w/ bodywork. So I need detailed explanations :D . Ok, I know that some type of clay/filling compound can be used on the body to fill dents, but to fill a gap like that? Would I have to worry about it cracking since it is joining two pieces together that might have different loads applied to them?

I want the end result to be like this :
14017.jpg

yes I know that is on a sport, and an aftermarket runningboard - I am just talking about not having the break there.

This brings me to my next question... Gf's sister basically keyed her car (about 5 ft long) w/ the corner of my bumper trying to get in her driveway late at night, after a few too many. Took off a good chunk.
10058100_0718__large_.jpg

Can't tell from photo, but the black area is about 1/8" deep. Dealer wants basically $75 or something per square inch of damage. I want to save her some money and try to fill it in and sand it myself so that they only have to paint it. How would I go about doing so? Would sanding a corner like that be extremely difficult?

Also, does the bumper seem a bit too low? everyone says it looks low, and I've noticed it definetly does drop down a little more from the grill then others (compare it to the 1st photo).

any detailed instructions w/ pictures would be appreciated.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!