• Register Today It's free!

Help diagnosing 4R70W shudder

rulouder22

Reaction score
City, State
Daytona Beach, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Explorer XLT
I've been reading a LOT of stuff over the last few weeks here regarding the 4R70W transmission. I'm learning a ton from the rebuild diaries but I still can't seem to nail this shuttering problem that I'm having.

A few months ago I picked up a '96 Explorer - V8 with the 4R70W trans (113k miles). A few weeks ago it started shuddering. I'm no transmission expert but it seems to start the shudder at the top end of my acceleration - almost at the point where it wants to level off the speed while my foot is still on the gas (maybe this is when it's shifting into OD??) I tried turning OD off and it still does it but not as bad. Reverse works fine and shifting from 1 to 2 is pretty smooth. If I let off of the gas while it's shuddering, it stops.

So, after reading these forums, I decided to try changing fluid/filter and changing to a Merc V fluid. I don't have the history on this vehicle but I am pretty sure that the fluid was never changed (113k miles - yikes). My fluid change consisted of dropping the pan, draining the TC and blowing air into the lines to the cooler. I was able to get around 11 qts out. The pan still had that little plastic plug that comes from the factory, this is why I think it was never changed. The fluid was still pinkish, didn't smell burnt but was pretty dirty looking. Here's the thing that I'm worried about... the magnet had some superfine metal 'dust' stuck to it. It was almost like a metal paste - like a toothpaste consistency. The entire magnet was covered in about 1/8" of this stuff. There were no big metal shavings, I even cracked open the old filter and I didn't see anything of concern. I installed the new dacron filter and Mercon V and all of the levels seem ok (although that dipstick is a pain to get an accurate reading from).