Help

James Richard

Reaction score
City, State
Cottage Grove
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 mercury mountaineer
I am new to this. So here we go.
I have a 2003 mercury mountaineer AWD I am replacing transfer case. In removing front drive shaft 1 bolt on front diff snapped. Can i replace yoke and if so do ineed to replace pinion seal.
Second question. I pulled the front drive shaft from 04 explorer. Are they the same shaft. There is no ID tag on front diff so I don't know what Dana type I have. Front diff cover I cannot match with any style
Any help appreciated

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I am new to this. So here we go.
I have a 2003 mercury mountaineer AWD I am replacing transfer case. In removing front drive shaft 1 bolt on front diff snapped. Can i replace yoke and if so do ineed to replace pinion seal.
Second question. I pulled the front drive shaft from 04 explorer. Are they the same shaft. There is no ID tag on front diff so I don't know what Dana type I have. Front diff cover I cannot match with any style
Any help appreciated
I just happened to see your post, sorry, by now maybe too late. What is most critical about removing the front diff. yoke is getting the pinion bearing preload set to proper limits when replacing the yoke. Diff failure is very often due to improper pinion bearing preload. imp

Thanks for the tip. Currently having issues getting the pinion nut off. I have tried multiple impact wrenches, air powered, I tried a half inch breaker bar and broke the bar. My last attempt will be trying to apply heat.

Thanks for the tip. Currently having issues getting the pinion nut off. I have tried multiple impact wrenches, air powered, I tried a half inch breaker bar and broke the bar. My last attempt will be trying to apply heat.