Loose Front Wheels: Issue Narrowed Down; Need HELP!!!!!! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Loose Front Wheels: Issue Narrowed Down; Need HELP!!!!!!

mclarenf1kid

Reaction score
City, State
Spartanburg, SC
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 Explorer XLT
So I recently purchased my 1992 Explorer XLT. It has 4x4 with the auto lock hubs.

I took it to my work so I could replace the tires. Jacked the front up.

Shook the front wheels only to find they had play in them. I knew something was wrong with the hubs by the irregular wear on the tires. Wheels move up/down and left/right

Now this is what I've narrowed down:

*Wheel bearings are fine. No roaring/whining during driving. No sound from hubs during steering left/right. Wheels spin freely with no grinding noise while jacked up.

*4x4 hub simply slides off once wheel is removed. I'm new to this vehicle, so excuse any "common sense" issues I may have lol! Not sure if this is normal. 4x4 hub does slide right on with no issues

*Once 4x4 hub is removed, axle shaft has about 1/4" of play up/down and left/right. Not sure what retains the axle's center.

*With wheel mounted, wheel/caliper/rotor/hub have play and move together. Is there a joint at that point that could be bad?

*No sound or issues from CV axles. Vehicle steering is responsive.

Any thoughts to my wheel play? Is there a common problem for this year Explorer that I should look into?

Let me know! Thanks

-Steven

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I think the hubs had a clip to hold them on from the factory, but I havent seen one with it still on yet (so yes, thats normal).

There are no CV axles (yay!) on these.

Perhaps you upper and lower ball joints are shot. Might be a good idea to check out the tie rods.