lubricating bearings, joints, ect... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

lubricating bearings, joints, ect...

method84

Reaction score
City, State
New Haven, CT
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93 XLT
hey, I purchased a grease gun today and some general purpose lithium grease....I want to start lubricating stuff underneath when im doing an oil change and was wondering if there was any write ups I could follow possibly with pics or if someone can tell me exactly what I should be lubricating and if this lithium grease is the ticket....thanks ahead of time...sorry for the dumb question...im not very good with automobiles :eek:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You want marina grade wheel bearing grease, synthetic is good too...

Not LITHIUM grease.

Also I hate to burst your bubble but on a stock 93 the only thing you can grease is the steering tie rod ends and where the drag link meets the tie rod.
3 total grease zerks.
All U joints are non greaseable.
the wheel bearings you have to take the wheel and rotor off
the ball joints are also sealed from the factory.

However you have got the right idea, and once you replace all that stuff (U joints, ball joints, etc) yuou can get the greasable style and be like me, I go through a full size tube of grease every two months just on my truck, but I'm a freak and I have 16+ grease zerks under my BII

oh wow...Ive been on a do-it-myself kick lately and fogured this can be one more chore I can do in order to keep my beast healthy...I geuss there not much I can do though...thanks for the feedback...I looked underneath about 5 minutes ago and noticed that the front bar (I think its the tie rod) is all greased up and I think it might have been done by my mechanic....again thanks for the feedback I appreciate it ;)

never hurts to grease it up.