My 2wd 1998 xlt lift spindles and SOA project | Page 4 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

My 2wd 1998 xlt lift spindles and SOA project

How hard was it to flip the back end 'shock absorber plate thingy'? As you may be able to tell I'm new to this. I have a 96 xlt and want to lift the suspension about two inches.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Thanks... Didn't even think about ebay... Btw dirt rig looks awesome same to mine soon have some time off next July an am planing my sas then...

War best thing if you only want 2 inches would be shackles in the rear and torsion twist in the front... You will get 2-3 inches in 20 minutes

How hard was it to flip the back end 'shock absorber plate thingy'? As you may be able to tell I'm new to this. I have a 96 xlt and want to lift the suspension about two inches.

The SOA (spring over axle) gives you 5 1/2 inches of lift.
If your looking for couple inches then TT (torsion twist) in the front is free, you already have it on your explorer
For the rear you can shackles like how I did when I first started. I used Copperhead Fab shackles. A lot of people on here used warrior shackles. I never had any problem with mine besides having to drill larger holes threw because they were too small
Or you can do AAL (add a leaf)

if you're broke like me....

a set of fabtech spindles and aaleafs off craigslist make my 2wd pretty sweet even tho im dreaming of a 4wd monster..... $160 bucks wth not

still on 33's but i will find a deal on something soon

IMAG0204.jpg

IMAG0397.jpg

Take the AAL out and do a SOA. Trust me its worth it.
Only problem with spindles is you cant go any higher after that. (I wouldn't at least) IFS with tires bigger then 35s will tear your **** apart an less you do heavy upgrades