Need advice/options for P0401 EGR Insufficient Flow for 2005 Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Need advice/options for P0401 EGR Insufficient Flow for 2005 Ford Explorer

cogrep

Reaction score
I have a 2005 Ford Explorer with 78k miles. Bought it used about 4 years ago and over the past 2 yeasr have been using it very little, occasional long trips but maybe 50 miles in a normal month with only a couple of uses per month. Check engine light came on with code P0401 EGR Insufficient flow months ago. Now I need emissions inspection this month and it won't pass with this problem. Car is running fine so I actually don't care if it gets fixed (wrong approach?) but I absolutely need to pass emissions somehow.

I've tried to research on the internet and I was going to try to change the EGR valve to see if code would clear (I'm not good with cars but seemed straightforward), however I can't seem to get to the bolts given it's location at the back of the engine so that's a no-go. The shops around here want to charge $100+ just to diagnose it... if it's likely the EGR valve, I'd rather that $100 just go into the repair cost. So I've got lots of questions and need some solid adice....

(1) First, is there anything easy I can try to clear the code and pass emissions? Does the issue have anything to do with the car sitting for long periods without being used?
(2) Should I pay the $100+ to have a shop diagnose it? Is there a cheaper way to diagnose? Should I try to get them to change the EGR valve (undiagnosed) and just hope that's the issue?
(3) Shops want $250+ for EGR valve but multiple auto parts stores have it for less than $150. I can't help but feel cheated at the repair shops - advice?
(4) Other than emissions, what is the risk in not fixing this issue?