• Register Today It's free!

Need another quick fix/tip

DesertLight

Reaction score
City, State
Kingman, AZ
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 XLT
You guys always have advice and I'm happy that you guys are around.

I gotta another one for you.
Last Saturday my 1998 Ford Explorer would not start, just clacking, Starter right? well I'm a college student so I'm gonna take it back to my parents house so I can get it fixed (Approx 160 mile away). Any trick to get her turned over this last time so I cant get her home and replace the starter.
Many thanks :D

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hit it with a hammer

Do you know it's not the battery, or loose cable/ground ?

Explorers often have bad positive battery cables. They are a little bit too short and will fatigue over time. Try "adjusting" the positive battery cable when you try and crank it.

Hit it with a hammer

R1dd1ck's right. Tap the solenoid/starter with a hammer if all you get is clicking. The starter might be on a dead spot or the solenoid might be dying and the vibrations from hitting it with a hammer will often do the trick to get the thing starting again.

I've used this trick several times with great success over the years.

R1dd1ck's right. Tap the solenoid/starter with a hammer if all you get is clicking. The starter might be on a dead spot or the solenoid might be dying and the vibrations from hitting it with a hammer will often do the trick to get the thing starting again.

I've used this trick several times with great success over the years.