New first-time Ford owner - 6,300 miles later. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New first-time Ford owner - 6,300 miles later.

CitationX

Reaction score
City, State
San Jose, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 Ford Explorer
Hello all,

A new member here. I am a fairly a recent reader of this forum. I found this forum when I started seriously looking at the new Explorer as my next vehicle. Thanks to this forum, I got lots of useful information and tips. Now I am an owner of one, and have put a few thousand miles on the car, I wanted to share my experience with the vehicle and Ford in general.

2011 Explorer Limited 4WD
-Sterling Gray / Black
-301A Package (Nav, Lux seating, Power 3rd row, Power liftgate)
-Towing package
-Blind Spot monitoring
-6,300 miles so far
MSRP : $44,425
Purchased : $39,500 + Airfare : I travel if you give me good deals :D

Just so you know what kind of user I am… I am an engineer in IT, and not an expert when it comes to automobiles, but you can throw any gadget at me and I can probably figure it out. Somewhat innovative gadgets in the new Explorer were one of the reasons that made me consider it. I do regular maintenance work myself, and changing brake pads and rotors is probably as involved as I will ever be with my vehicles.

I don’t have children and I rarely have rear passengers. I go camping and snowboarding a lot, so Explorer was a good choice. I’ve already used the second and the third row seat as a tent a few times. It is great if you get to your destination late and don’t want to set up tents!