• Register Today It's free!

Old wives tale...

ajevenson

Reaction score
City, State
Calgary, AB
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT
I grew up on the farm and all the farmers used to put ATF in thier oil both on heavy machinery and their personal vehicles (about 250 ml) after an oil change. They said ATF has a detergent in it or something that helps continually clean carbon deposits out.

And also, once the the oil is drained out of the pan during an oil change, these guys would fill up the oil pan and crankcase to full with diesel (no oil in the entire engine!) and start the vehicle and let it run for about 20-30 seconds. Supposedly there are enough oils in the diesel that the engine wont sieze and the diesel can flow into smaller openings and remove varnish, carbon, etc.

Any truth to either of these, anyone else do this or heard of this before? I've been doing this on my vehicles for several years now and it seems to really clean out the system, but am I tempting fate here?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

:nono: :nono: Dont do it on a newer engine. This was only done on older models to clean out metal shavings or extremely dirty motors such as one that has been running in the fields with alot of dust or dirt. The only other time would be on a rebuilt motor when you know for certain that there has been busted pistons or rings. In other words you know there is metal shavings present. If your engine has siezed up this will help free up the rings. If you are just changing your oil this will just cause excess wear and tear.

Are theses the same folks that say a snapping turtle won't let go from bitting you till it thunders?

Sounds like my kin fiilk talking.... but don't believe a word of it.

Its a tarapin that wont let go until it thunders. A snappin turtle will just take your finger and go!:p