PLEASE HELP!!! High swr on my roof rack mounted antenna | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

PLEASE HELP!!! High swr on my roof rack mounted antenna

I am fairly new to CB radios so I have a question about my radio and antenna setup. Everything seems to be working fine but I really do not know how good one should work. I am going to give you guys some details of my setup and see what you think.

I have a Cobra 29 LTD Classic mounted to the side of the center consul with Velcro. I have the coax running under the seat throwing the back door to my antenna. I have a ground wire running from a bolt under the seat to a screw on the side of the radio.

I have a 3' fiberglass antenna made by diesel electronics that I got from a truck stop. I have the antenna mounted with the clamp that came with it to the stock roof rack that is made out of plastic. I know the roof rack is not grounded but I do not know if that leads to the problem below.

The problem is I can't get the swr meter built in on my radio to get below 3. I have tried running a ground wire from the mounting bracket to the same bolt I grounded the radio but that made the swr worse.

Has anybody got any ideas since I have tried many different things. Do I need to ground the antenna? Right now I have the ground wire off and I can't tell a difference. I think this may just be a problem with the built in meter on the radio.

Sorry for the long post but i want to make sure I put in all the details.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

well, you do need a better ground,, the wire running back to the seat bolt is not a good idea , it could cause a ground loop,,
another problem is the smallish length antenna, i would experiment with other placements, to find out if there is a better place ,