Running power to the passenger compartment | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Running power to the passenger compartment

pflood06

Reaction score
City, State
Delavan, WI
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 Limited
I just took delivery of my 2011 Limited. I am a firefighter and need to run both power and a siren speaker wire from the engine compartment to the passenger compartment. Does anyone have experience with that? There doesn't appear to be anywherer in the firewall to get through.

I don't have mine yet, and I haven't messed with sirens, but I have with extra lights etc.

Usually there is a large rubber plug that goes through the firewall that has most of the wiring going through it. It usually has dimples for individual wire runs to go through and there are always some blanks. Don't remove the plug, it can be a pain to get back into the firewall, but you can usually poke a hole through the plug blank for wires.

I don't like messing around the ignition wires, etc (one slip and you can cut something mess up bad) so I usually drill a small hole (say 1/4 inch) through the firewall somewhere that is easy to get to, no curves, etc and most important, nothing on the other side to drill into! You can then buy grommets to put your wires through and use some silicone to seal it up more.

I would buy some nice 14 or 12 guage wire at the automotive store in different colors (use red for +, black for -, green for grnd, maybe blue or yellow for switch) and a grommet. Then wire directly to the battery. Use suitcase connectors or good crimp connectors for all the wiring and if your really nuts, shrink tubing around them.