Seafoam in crankcase | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Seafoam in crankcase

I am no expert so take this for what it's worth. I would be cautious about adding Seafoam or any other solvent to the crankcase.

The reason being if it is a high mileage motor and was owned by someone else before you, they might not have changed the oil as it should have been done leading to some serious sludge.

So when you run the solvent thru the crankcase to clean the sludge it will brake loose and go to the oil pan and possibly get sucked into you’re oil pump screen and clog it causing no oil pressure due to no oil flow and seize the motor.

However if you are the original owner, have rebuilt or put a remanufactured motor in you’re Explorer and know the maintenance has been done properly I would not hesitate running some thru the motor on occasion before changing the oil.

I have torn apart some nasty motors and can tell you first hand if you ran Seafoam thru some of those motors they would certainly have clogged the oil pump screen causing the motors to lock up.

I am rebuilding a motor now for my 94 XLT that has 206,000 miles on the clock and when I put it back in the Explorer I will probly run some thru every 3rd or 4th oil change just to keep it good and clean, but if using a good quality oil, sticking to the same brand and changing the oil at the proper interval this should be a non issue.

Jeff.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!