Second Opinion on Minor Body Rust | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Second Opinion on Minor Body Rust

This is my first time doing anything with body paint and I think I'm certain of what I need to do, after I take the steps off. I have two spots on my body that I will use Por-15 on followed by clear coat, but first I will use a wire brush and sandpaper. Now is Por-15 recommended for the two spots or should I try PlastiKote Rust Converter that I've read about a few times on this site? Also is there any type of brush-on Clear Coat that I could just brush on vs having to buy plastic to cover up all but the two spots and spray the clear coat?

Spot 1
Jul-11-2013-8-48-39-AM.jpg

Spot 2
Jul-11-2013-8-47-33-AM.jpg

I also have a spot under my back window and I plan on just using the sandpaper on followed by touch-up paint. Is this the best action to take or should I use Por-15 also followed by touch-up?

Backwindow
Jul-11-2013-8-47-59-AM.jpg

If the first spot was bigger I might consider replacing the entire dog leg, but I'd much rather stop it right now then spend money unless it's the only way.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

in the top two photos the rust is coming from the inside out.
POR 15 will do little more than slow things down.

I am confused by your question about brush on clear vs. covering it with plastic.

Any where ANY WHERE there is rust the best method is to remove all the rust completely. In the case of your rear window you might get lucky and grind all that out, but make sure you go at least two inches beyond the currently rusted area.

Rust never sleeps.

When you remove the steps you might be in for a big surprise. The rust on the rocker panels, especially the rear, can be really, really bad.

explorer069.jpg