skipping hesitating misfiring please help | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

skipping hesitating misfiring please help

DickyDanger

Reaction score
City, State
Dracut, Ma
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Mercury Mountaineer
i have a 2002 mercury mountainer 4.6 v8 awd with just over 130,000 miles. i have a flowmaster exhaust with a side pipe that exits right in front of the driver side rear tire. at certain rpms on light to medium throttle especially going up hill the truck skips and hesitates. i have changed all 8 spark plugs and all eight coils. while doing so i noticed two spark plug holes one on each side of the engine had oil in them and its not appearing to come from the valve covers. i don't have a check engine light normally all though on a weekend trip home pulling a trailer with atvs on it the check engine came on for random misfire.after clearing that code two weeks ago it has not come back on. is it possible the the oil is leaking from a bad intake plenum gasket? when the truck starts skipping and hesitating i can hear it through the exhuast as well as feel it as im driving. as far as i know the plenum has never been off. does this sound like my issue? the gasket kit is only like 40$ and labor is free to me. any help is great;y appreciated thanks for taking the time to read my post

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would check cylinder compression first. Oil outside the engine after heavy loads , along with the misfires leads me to believe there is substantial blow by.

It "could" be from a clogged PCV valve also.