SOHC 4.0 Cracked Cylinder Wall? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

SOHC 4.0 Cracked Cylinder Wall?

bpopp

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Explorer 4.0 SOHC
I had a leaky radiator that I ignored for too long. It eventually led to overheating while my son was driving and then I eventually noticed white smoke in my exhaust. This got worse and eventually I started having misfires. When I pulled the engines/heads, I found coolant in cylinder 1:

20210522_202645.jpg

I like working on cars, but as you'll see, I'm still a novice. I originally assumed head gasket failure and/or warped heads and I was hoping to not rebuild the block (around 180k miles). It appeared to me that the gasket failed between the cylinders, but I honestly didn't see any obvious damage to the head gasket.

The heads are at the engine shop being cleaned, surfaced, and reworked. While I waited, I started cleaning up the block. There's some pitting around the water jackets, but it's flat and I don't believe the block surface is too bad. Unfortunately in cylinder 1 there was some staining and I started to worry that it was a crack and in a moment of weakness and panic, I scrubbed it gently with scotchbrite. It cleaned up, but I noticed that when I turn the crank, there's a straight bead of oil left on the cylinder wall. It feels perfectly smooth and I can't feel anything with a fingernail. Could this be a crack? As you can see, I unfortunately scratched up the wall of the cylinder with the scotchbrite.

20210615_094331.jpg
20210615_094354.jpg
20210615_104240.jpg

Based on this cylinder, does this block need to be rebuilt? I'm not looking for this rebuild to last forever, but I dumped $500 into an OEM timing kit and another $500 for the heads and gaskets so I obviously don't want to throw a rod after a week. I'd be very happy to get another 50k miles out of it. Thanks for any advice.

Certainly doesn’t look good. Can you feel it with a fingernail?