Speaker Questions for the Experienced Audiophiles | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Speaker Questions for the Experienced Audiophiles

LStoudenmire

Reaction score
City, State
Charleston, SC
I'm new at the audio upogrades, so bear with me. I have a 94 Sport and am planning on upgrading my system. The first phase will be the installation of replacement speakers, followed by a new HU and then an amp(s) later and possibly a sub in the rear. I had planned on KENWOOD Excelon KFC-XR500 (5.25") for the ft drs and then the KENWOOD Excelon KFC-X688C for the rear panels. Although, I have been seeing folks online placing 6x8 in the frt doors and the rears, whereas I have always been under the impression that the 5.25 would produce more highs which should be in the ft doors and the rear should be for more bass oriented speakers(which i would think the 6x8's would produce more than the 5.25's). (How's that for a runon sentence?) It seems to me that if you put 6x8's in both frt and rear locations that you would not be achieveing more highs in the frt. Is this true?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

With 5 1/4 Coxials or Components, you get a better mid range sound and speaker selection. The difference in bass isn't significant. your set-up sounds pretty good to me. I'd definately get an amp to power the speakers though.

:chug: