• Register Today It's free!

Sputters When Shifted to Park

rynil2000

Reaction score
City, State
Manchester, NH
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Explorer Sport Trac
Hey guys, I've been to the site a few times before, but this is my first time posting.

I'm driving a 2001 Explorer Sport Trac 4.0 V6, and it has been acting strange lately. When ever you shift into park the truck sputters 3-5 times and sounds like it's going to shut off, but then returns to a steady idle. So far it hasn't cut off, but it sounds really rough.

This only happens when you shift from drive to park. I can do it multiple times while sitting still and it will sputter every time, but recover as before. I tried going from neutral to park and the sputter didn't happen.

Otherwise, the truck runs fine; starts and drives well. I recently replaced the DPFE sensor to clear a "check engine" code. I'm not sure if that would have something to do with this problem. The check engine light has remained off since replacing the sensor.

I have seen a few posts about cleaning/replacing the IAC valve because of similar problems, but I just want to make sure before I go buying parts. I'm not sure if I have the job 1 or job 2 engine model. Is the IAC valve a relatively easy fix?

Any help is appreciated.

:aerostar: <== BTW, I love that this forum has this. I grew up in this van.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The IACV is cake to replace/clean. That might be the solution to your problem. But it could also be the MAF, TPS, dirty injectors, dirty fuel, dirty throttle body, loose or gone vacuum hose, low transmission fluid, among other thing's. Check to see if the TB is dirty, than put some injector cleaner through the system. Post solution when found for further help towards other SE users! :)