Solved - Stalling while at idle. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Solved Stalling while at idle.

Prefix for threads that contain problems that have been resolved, and there is an answer within the thread.

explorerphil

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 ford explorer
Hi everyone,
First things first, I am the proud owner of a 2005 4.0L Explorer XLT. I am not a mechanic but I do do most of my own vehicle maintenance and service, the biggest reason is that I like knowing the job was done with care and attention (I may have trust issues). On to the topic of this thread:

A few weeks ago the engine stalled on me at a red light but then started back up right away without issue. While I was driving there was no stalling, performance was good/normal. I continued to drive the truck daily and the problem continued to manifest itself a couple minutes after the engine would get to up to running temp. One day my wife was driving to pick me up from work and she said it stalled every time it was stationary. I went to meet her at the truck and it was in limp home mode I think, It would start and then die as soon as I put it into gear. I ended up towing it home. The next morning it started fine but continued to stall at temperature (the last two sentences may just be a red hearing). Only when it went into limp home mode did I get any codes. The codes were P2106, P0303, P2006, P0621, and P0600. I cleared all these codes and they did not return.