• Register Today It's free!

Towing with a 95 XLT 4.0

venom

Reaction score
City, State
Duncan, OK
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 XLT
Okay, I've searched, and I found some good info, but nothing specific. I plan on using my DD Explorer to tow my toy, an 85 Jeep, to the beach this summer. Rather take that on the beach than my EX. I have a couple of concerns before I do this.

I have 140,000 miles on the rig (95 XLT). It has the 4.0 in it, and it seems strong. Would it be overworking it to tow 800 miles round trip?

I plan on flat towing the jeep (tow bar). I need to use a frame mounted receiver hitch so I can level out the tow bar. Are there any anti sway components that I should get?

Will running with OD off for the trip hurt anything? I'm new to towing with automatics.

Are there any other things I should consider?

FYI I used my 91 Sport 4x4 5speed to tow a trailer and race car from Oklahoma to VA, and it handled it just fine so I think I'm okay, but I want to cover all my bases.

TIA!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I tow 1.5-2.0 tons at 60-70mph for hours at a time without problem, on cruise control, in overdrive.

When approaching long, steep inclines remember your speed may drop sufficiently to drop out of cruise control (if selected and fitted). So to maintain speed you may want to deselect o/d before this happens (if under hard acceleration you may not be able to do this) and then start dropping down through the box 2 - 1 etc.

The only time I've found this happening to me is on the Devil's Elbow approaching the Glen Shee ski station, but this is the highest pass in the UK!

Auto boxes definately need an oil cooler but I think you'll find your Ex will already have one to take care of overheating.

I've never used any hitch friction device, but then I don't accelerate downhill