What do I REALLY need to tune-up on my 2002 4.0L? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What do I REALLY need to tune-up on my 2002 4.0L?

mfay71

Reaction score
City, State
Idaho
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Ford Explorer E.B.
Ok guys,

Speaking as a novice (I'm no mechanic, but pretty handy on repairs), I would like to know what REALLY needs to be done for a good tune-up on my 2002 EB Explorer.

FYI - I love this truck. I bought it from my dad 2 years ago, and absolutely love it...it's NEVER let me down. I've driven her cross country twice.

Stats on the truck:
- 150,000 miles
- Regularly maintained by my dad (oil changes, etc)
- 4.0L V6
- 2WD

To give you a gauge on my mechanic ability: Since I have owned the truck, I have changed both rear wheel bearings & rotors, replaced the rear A/C blower motor, and I have replaced the much maligned "door ajar" switches...all of which I replaced following instructions given on this forum. :)
Point being, I am pretty handy and not afraid to tackle a job given good instruction. I thank all of you in advance for that instruction. :)

So, given the above, what do I really need to replace for a good tune-up?
**I should also mention that I am currently getting around 14-16MPG hwy, but once in a while the truck will stall when I start it....but then start and run just fine.**
**Idles well, but I would say it is very slightly rough. It doesn't jump around on the RPM at all, just a little less than smooth.**
**Speaking to my dad, other than oil changes/filter changes, the last major tuneup was around 60,000 miles. I purchased the truck from him with around 112k miles.**

Thanks all!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!