Woukd this be this safe?

4x4Zach

Reaction score
City, State
Central GA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 Explorer Sport
I'm new to Explorers and 4x4s in general and have a few questions. I have a
'97 Sport 4x4. I found this guy's page and really liked his X.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2548117

The first 2 pics show his car with a 3" SL, 2" TT and a 3" BL with 33"s.
The 3rd pic shows the same set-up without the BL with 33"s. With the BL, this is capable of clearing 35"s right?

I've searched all over this site and can't find out what a safe set-up is. First and foremost, I'm looking for something
to be safe on the interstate. I don't want to have anything to do with this lol. :roll: Would the 3" SL and 3" BL be safe? Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Zach It is not recomended to use a B/L in conjunction with a suspension lift. With that said I run 6" custom suspension lift and a 3" body lift. My truck is more stable at highway speeds than my work van. Just remember more lift = higher center of gravity, respect that and you will be ok. Also when running bigger tires, remember run good tires, you dont need it to get tippy at highway speeds in the event of a blowout. I would check the avalibility of a taller lift 6" rather than go with both suspension and B/L you will be money ahead to start with a good kit. The only reason I have a body lift is because I would have to do some major hacking to get the zf trans under the floorpan otherwise. You may have to do some trimming to the front bumper or get one made to clear 35's with 6". good luck:salute:

But what is the 3" suspension lift her is using....cause all the lifts kits are 4" I believe, so if he is using 3" spindles you can't use those do to the fact you are 4x4 and he is 4x2