cheap upgrades/performance mods! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

cheap upgrades/performance mods!

bart_mcilroy

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
oo mountaineer awd v8
ok. so i live down in florida and i was wondering if theres any free or cheap things i can do to my mounty to make it better? i wish i had the money for a lift and everything but im a student and extra money is hard to find or maybe if you want to give any parts away? i just really want to do extra stuff but dont have the money. i do have some time though. thanks yall.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

-cheap
-fast
-reliable

Pick 2

dang. its hard to just pick two. i wish i could do all three. but i'd probably have to choose cheap and reliable. or maybe a little of all three. im looking around for some headers and exhaust kits but their all too expensive right now.

first thing change to synthetic fluids if not done already. motor, trans, rear end. good set of plugs and wires. cat-back exhaust. like you said, headers. cold air intake. tune from james at henson performance, but that unit is almost $400. but well worth it!

You could also check out electric fans. Switch all of your ugly green switches and instrument cluster to blue or red leds. It doesnt cost much, just time consuming.

But as far as free mods are concerned. You could always
-Swiss cheese (drill holes) air filter box.
-Check your throttle cable isnt stretched out. If it is, throw some zip ties on it by the throttle pedal.
-Adjust your TPS so its at .96 volts.
-Port your maf housing and throttle body using a sanding flap wheel.

Thats about all i got for you right now.

How do you change the bulbs in the switches?

How do you change the bulbs in the switches?