• Register Today It's free!

2000 Explorer Limited 5.0

johnb6597

Reaction score
City, State
New Mexico
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer Limited 5.0
Greetings, All: Quick preface...I am not a mechanic, nor very mechanically-inclined. You could fit everything I know about cars and combustion engines and how they work inside a matchbook cover, scrawled with a crayon. On the other hand, my Dad was a professional Evinrude/Mercury inboard/outboard mechanic, and my two closest friends are professional auto mechanics, so I do have some rudimentary sense of how wrenches are supposed to work. Nice to meet you guys, thanks for having me here. I bought a 2000 Explorer Limited V8 back in 2002 from a Ford dealership right outside Boston. Promptly drove it to New Mexico, where it has remained for the last 20 years. No significant repairs or damages during those 20 years...replaced the fuel pump in 2015, and that's pretty much it. Currently have 207,x.. miles on her, did the major tune-ups at 100,000 and 200,000 miles. Never had a single problem, until about a year ago, I noticed there was a very minor oil leak on our driveway...maybe a drop per day. Lived with it a year, then couldn't take it anymore, so took it to our local hometown Ford dealership to figure it out & make it stop. Three weeks later, they tell me it needs a new RMS, new oil pan, and new left manifold...maybe a few bolts along the way, since they expected some would break as they did the work. I pre-approved everything they needed to do. Six weeks and $4200 later, they tell me it's all done and healthy again. I made it a mile down the road before the CEL came on, and in 3rd gear at 40mph-45mph, she hesitated badly and consistently. No problem replicating it for the Service Manager and Technician. Another 3 weeks and 2 more return trips to the dealership later, CEL still comes on and stays on after 4 or 5 trips around town, and she still badly hesitates as I previously described. Dealership has basically was