• Register Today It's free!

4.6L first mods?

red82gt

Reaction score
City, State
Kelowna
Year, Model & Trim Level
2022 Explorer ST
Hello, I've had my XLT for about a year now and I'm pretty happy with it but I'd like to improve the performance a bit. I've just replaced the solenoid packs and have a smooth shifting tranny once again. I have plenty of experience with mustangs so the aftermarket is nothing new to me but I want to know what gives good bang for the buck in an explorer. I brought it to the track last october just to see what it'd do bone stock. After two 16.5's at 82.2mph, it surprised me with a 1st round breakout of 16.177@83.3mph (2.445 60' time)

The major shortcomings of the motor in stock form are likely the airbox, stock exhaust, stock computer programming, and the mechanical clutch fan. Does this sound about right?

Exhaust:
Does anyone make an aftermarket mid-pipe for these trucks? Visually, this looks like it would be the component that makes up the majority of the 20hp difference between the 2v mustang and the explorer. Also, are the JBA headers the only game in town? There are plenty of cat-back exhaust kits out there-so far I'm leaning towards the magnaflow just because I've never had magnaflow anything on my mustang.

Airbox:
So far I've seen the MAC and the K&N kits, any others out there to consider?

Tuners:
Diablo or SCT? Who to go to for programs for these trucks?

Electric fan:
I'll probably find a fan suitable size-wise (Taurus or MKVIII or something) and use a flex-a-lite Variable speed controller.

Pulleys?
Is there an underdrive pulley set available for explorers? Are the pulley sizes different than the 4.6 mustangs? I would imagine that the water pump pulley would be different due to the mechanical fan on the explorer.